Trade Unions in Pakistan


Pakistan at a glance

Pakistan came into being, in 1947, as British colonial rule ended with a division of India into two countries. Pakistan, at its birth, comprised of two wings: East Pakistan and West Pakistan. The Eastern wing, in 1971, declared independence and became Bangladesh.

Comprising 778,720 sq. km. of land, Pakistan is a thickly-populated country of 170 million, according to CIA World Fact book. With Islamabad as capital, Pakistan is a federation of four provinces: Punjab, Sindh, NWFP(renamed in 2008 as Pashtoonkhwa) and Balochistan. Karachi, Lahore and Faisalabad are three largest towns both in terms of population and industrial base. Official language is English while Urdu is national language. Punjabi, Sindhi, Pashto and Baluchi (besides a dozen other languages) are spoken in above mentioned provinces, respectively.
Literacy rate is 49.9 Percent (male: 63%,female: 36%).

          read more in detail Download PDF




        Hearing the Unheard




Labour Education Foundation